Faith · Quotes · Team In Training

Quotation Reflection Thursday

“How wonderful it is that nobody needs to wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.” Anne Frank

One week into my journey with Team In Training, I still feel overwhelmed by the task ahead of me in fundraising. I’m brainstorming constantly and regularly trying to come up with new ideas, techniques, and events in which I can raise money for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. In the last week, I have seen great generosity, but I still have so far to go. As such, I found myself online looking for motivating quotation about fundraising… to both lift myself and hopefully encourage others to donate. It was through that search that I found these words from Anne Frank.

In many ways, this quote needs no interpretation. Anne finds it to be wonderful that we needn’t wait for the “right” time or a “special” time before we begin to improve the world because we can start doing it right now. Every breath, every action, every tiny step we take makes an impact on the world. Anne shows us that those tiny steps can be the start of improving the world.

“How wonderful it is that nobody needs to wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.” Anne Frank

I’ve often found myself wallowing in how big the world’s problems are. I think to myself, “What could I possibly do to help? I’m just one person.” As I reflect on this quote though, I realize how silly it is to become stuck in such a thought process. I realize that I’ve already made an impact on the world around me: tutoring second grade for four years, teaching Sunday school, helping with Cool Club, buying a necklace from Beads For Life, recycling, and so many other things that I do day to day. Yes, signing up for this triathlon was a HUGE step towards improving the world (particularly the world of those personally affected by blood cancers), but such a big thing wasn’t the only way for me to help. Quite truly, many could say that I should have waited to do such a big thing in my life. Wait until my jobs were more stable and my income flow was more conducive to taking time to train. Wait until I had health insurance. Wait until … wait until … I could have come up with a million and one reasons why I shouldn’t do this, but the time is now and I couldn’t wait anymore.

When it comes to society as a greater whole, each person can realize and actualize their potential to improve the world. I’m not telling you that you need to run a marathon or triathlon (although it is a great cause), but I’m simply reminding you that you can make a difference in small ways. For Team In Training, you can donate, educate, and motivate. You can share and inspire. Those things will help me and help those with blood cancers. You can work toward your own cause that YOU are passionate about: write letters, send emails, share stories. Just today, a friend asked me to help her in the fight against Cystic Fibrosis. Only a few weeks ago, another friend went on a bike ride for diabetes. Some serve with their own hands, others contribute in whatever way they can. Find your own way… improve your world. The time is now. We don’t need to wait.

“How wonderful it is that nobody needs to wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.” Anne Frank

Leave a Reply

