My People · Team In Training · Video

Training Progress?

Any of you checking in to click that lovely tab at the top, “Training Progress,” will have noticed it has stalled at Week 4 (the week ending on June 14th). We didn’t have a group swim practice on the 16th which was the last day I was in San Diego.

My training has been minimal in the last two weeks. I’ve ridden my bike a couple of times. I’ve gotten in the pool once. “He’s gone.” When I heard those words nearly two weeks ago, time stood still. The last two weeks have been a roller coaster. Hours were spent looking at pictures, scanning pictures, retouching pictures and setting them to music. Cut the music. Arrange the photos. Honor Grandpa. Time was spent with family… siblings, parents, grandparent, cousins, aunt, and uncle. We talked about Grandpa. We talked about life. We relived all the moments we could remember.

Tomorrow, steady and hard training will resume. I’ll push play on the real world. Life will continue.

Tonight though, I’m still at home. Tonight, I’ll continue to store up those memories to carry me through my training… to carry his love for me through my life.

I’ve embedded that video. It’s in two parts because YouTube doesn’t take videos that big. Also, in trying to make it small enough for the internet, the quality… well, the sound is scratchy and quiet now. The pictures are sort of blurry. Maybe you can get an idea though… of the wonderful life my grandpa led.

One thought on “Training Progress?

  1. That turned out really good. What a beautiful tribute, he was a very loved and special man. You chose the perfect music too. Thank you for sharing this. Love you.

Leave a comment