Quotes · Team In Training

I can. I can’t. I can…

“Happy Quotation Reflection Thursday!”
“But, um, you know it’s Wednesday, right?”
“Yep, it’s here a day early for a revival!”

I’ve missed the more thought-provoking writing since beginning to truly chronicle the training journey. As we discover every Saturday morning though, the inspiration is crucial to the journey. Fuel for the soul to keep us going during long workouts and early mornings. Food for thought as we race against time to finish our fundraising. And so it goes…

“Don’t let what you can’t do stop you from doing what you can do.” -John Wooden

I actually stumbled upon these words in a YouTube video… strange, I know. I’ll accept inspiration wherever I can find it though. I’ve been getting bogged down in the [lack of] fundraising progress recently. I’ve certainly had some great donations in the last couple of weeks, but the overall progress has dropped steadily since June. As I continue to rack my brain for new ideas, I search for motivation and inspiration.

I think these words are fairly straightforward. I think each person confronts this dilemma at some point and understands the can versus cannot. It returns to the list of pros and cons we’re taught as children, weigh your options and decide. This quotation reminds to consider the positives carefully and not necessarily let the cons win outright. Interestingly, I find myself continually writing sentences more geared towards reflection and application and less interpretation. And so we’ll continue…

“Don’t let what you can’t do stop you from doing what you can do.” -John Wooden

These words reminded me of why I began my journey with Team In Training. I remember the cons that played in my head and the cons that others suggested to me… all of the reasons why I *shouldn’t* do this only motivated me more as to why I *should* do this. There were many reasons on the shouldn’t list, including the monumental goal of fundraising. I don’t currently have health insurance with my job, would that be okay? What if I find a new job? Would they be supportive of this endeavor? What if this and what if that plagued my thoughts. And yet, the shoulds overwhelmed me. Why not now? Why not me? Why should I let the shouldn’ts overpower the great benefit of raising money for cancer research and raising awareness? What a great thing it would be to have goals again! Meet new people! Be inspired regularly! Get in shape! And so it continued… and here we are. There are many things I can’t do, but I can TRY (and now I know that I can TRI too) and I did not let those things prevent me from doing what I could.

For society, I think we often get pulled into what I’ve taken to calling the “hole of can’t.” Even as small children, we stop trying because of the fear that we “can’t” do something. When I used to work with elementary school students, I’d hear, “But I can’t read.” Do you know what you can do though? “You can find the letters you know and the sounds they make, you can sound through the word.” By using what they could, they often made it through what they couldn’t do. On a more global scale, poverty and disease seem impossible to make a dent in. What can I do? I’m only one person. I can’t fight poverty. I can’t cure cancer. But what *can* you do? You can raise awareness. You can research and learn. You can support others. You can make a donation. Oh, right, back to fundraising? You may think, “I just can’t make a donation.” Maybe you can’t, but can you have one less Starbucks this week? Donate that. Can you walk to work and donate a day’s gas money? Can you spread the word to others you know? Maybe *they* can donate. I can TRI, what can you do?

“Don’t let what you can’t do stop you from doing what you can do.” -John Wooden

3 thoughts on “I can. I can’t. I can…

  1. Very nice blog you’ve got here… I just wanted to reply back to the sweet comment you made over on my blog and didn’t know how best to reach you. Thanks for the suggestion. We’ve tried everything for keeping the diapers on, but duct tape seems to work best for us. All three of the girls say, “no duct tape” every time I change them. I only have to put a small strip of it across the tabs now and they can’t get out of them. I just forget to do it sometimes.

  2. Wonderful post. Inspirational all the way. And definitely things I need to remember myself. I don’t say it enough, but I’m really inspired by what you are doing, and I am SO proud of you friend.

Leave a Reply

