Photography · Team In Training

Practice Triathlon Today!

We got started at Moonlight Beach in Encinitas, CA this morning at 6:15am… that was one of the hardest parts! I realized as I was setting up my transition area that I forgot my saddle bag… for the first time!

For those of you unfamiliar with such things (I know I was at the start of all of this), this is where I keep my spare tubes, CO2 cartridges, tire levers, and basically everything necessary to change a tire if I get a flat. Shoot. Naturally, I got a flat during the course of the triathlon and had to stop and wait for assistance from a teammate, stranger, or the SAG vehicle. My teammate Catherine had tubes, but they were the wrong size. A stranger gave me one of his tubes, but the stem didn’t fit in my tire… even though the tube was the right size. Finally, Ginger found me and I changed my tire. It cost me an extra 30 minutes or so, but I survived and thrived! (Also, my tire changing skills are pretty phenomenal at this point.)

I still finished in the amount of time I’d hoped to finish in… and that even included my extra tire changing time! Yay! Go me!! All in all, a successful (though tiring) day. It was half of our race distance (in miles that about a 1/2 mile swim, just about a 12.5 mile bike, and 3 mile run). Wow! It may have been “practice,” but it was the real deal.

On the fundraising front, $862 to go!! Help me reach my goal… it’s so close I can taste it! It’s not too late to donate! My deadline was extended a few days!! Yay! So as always, spread the word and the link:

http://pages.teamintraining.org/sd/pactri08/bleach

Happy Saturday and thank you SO much!

One thought on “Practice Triathlon Today!

Leave a Reply

