Faith · Music

For These Times

“In these times in which we live
Where the worst of what we live
Is laid out for all the world on the front page
And the sound of someone’s heartbreak
Is a soundbite at the news break
With a close shot of the tears rollin’ down their face
Blessed be the child who turns a loving eye
And stops to pray
For these times in which we live”
 

Tonight, I heard a heart-breaking tale. It isn’t a unique story (unfortunately), but it’s still heart-breaking. It was one of headlines tonight, but it was close to home. Literally. I felt sick to my stomach when I heard what happened.

It has been my desire to be a more hopeful person. I believe that we are each connected. I want to see the potential in people and the good that can come from a situation. I’m not an optimistic person by nature though. Hearing stories like the one I heard tonight remind me of why. I think that’s why these lyrics from Martina McBride’s “For These Times In Which We Live” are so crucial.

Turn a loving eye. Pray.

It doesn’t make the headlines disappear. It won’t make the story any less horrifying. But, there is power to change your heart. 

I’m learning.

One thought on “For These Times

Leave a Reply

