Quotes

Sharing

“Thousands of candles can be lit from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.” -Buddha

Do you remember your day to “share” in preschool? Elementary school? Do you remember how excited you were to take your favorite bear or game to school and show it off to your friends, classmates, and teachers? You very carefully selected your most prized possession and put it in the limelight. I remember begging my mom to let me bring my newest treasure  to school in Kindergarten. I remember promising that I would be so careful and I wouldn’t take her outside. Naturally, I did take her outside at recess because she was beautiful and I loved her. I wanted to play with the beautiful treasure I’d brought to school that day. My little treasure lost her head that day, but thankfully the break was clean and she’s been glued together and safe in her case ever since.

Today, I want to share two things I stumbled upon today. The first is a treasure of sportsmanship. The decision Coach Rohlman made is truly one that will remain with his team and Womack’s team for a lifetime. It is a shame that such acts of kindness and sportmanship are not more prevalent (or perhaps they are merely not deemed newsworthy?). I’m thankful for this piece and wanted to share it with you all.

The second thing I wanted to share is a beautiful reflection on self. Zach’s words reflect deeply the challenge of the photographer, the artist, the individual who constantly strives to better himself or herself. It is worth watching the entire video. It is worth bookmarking the video and returning to it again and again and again. And while you’re there, take a look around Deb Schwedhelm’s Photoblog and website. She’s a brilliant photographer and writer. Her words and actions inspire me often.

What do you want to share today?

3 thoughts on “Sharing

  1. You would think that at some point I would learn to stop reading inspirational tear jerkers at work. LOVE that story. Reminds me of a football story that was like something out of a movie. I’ll try and find the link for you later, but it was a game where the home team showed up to cheer for both sides…the opposition being kids from a detention facility. Such a cool story. Kinda reminded me of Gridiron Gang (I think was the name of that movie…)

  2. That story was indeed powerful when I saw it today….I can tell you that i see good deeds that go unnoticed during sporting events (or that won’t make the official story)

    I’ll share that today I learned that some battles are not yours to fight. You trust that your cause is just and you trust that you can articulate your position without resorting to nastiness and losing your cool. That’s what God showed me today and I’m grateful for that message

    1. I’m glad to know that you see good deeds often, I wish they were more noticed. While we shouldn’t *need* recognition for good deeds, recognition *is* deserved. Ya know?

      I’m glad God showed you that today… I hope you can find peace in it too.

Leave a Reply

