Fitness · Les Mills · Pixie Dust Challenge · Princess Half Marathon

Cross Training Spotlight: SH’BAM™

So, one of the first things I remember hearing when I started regularly working out as an adult was that you need to vary your workout, cross-train, change things up, etc… and there are all sorts of reasons for this. Seriously, google cross-training and you’ll be overwhelmed with tips, suggestions, methods, research, and so on. I didn’t really hear it growing up, but the dancer just dances (she dances tap, jazz, ballet, hip hop and sometimes even does cheerleading, but still).

My feet, not my words. Martha Graham gets that credit.

I am actually much better at the cross-training part than the running part (shocking new confession from the non-runner 😉 ). I love group fitness and take or teach Les Mills classes almost every day of the week (ALMOST. Rest is important too!). It probably stems from those dancer days. When I trained for my triathlon, the cross-training was automatic because I had to train all three sports. I should probably swim more than I do now, but by in large, you’ll likely find me kicking, punching, lifting, hovering, dancing, or getting my zen on in any number of classes at the gym. I’m much happier with buddies. 🙂 Like I said, I love my gym schedule so much that I sometimes find it hard to fit runs in and I’m going to need to really sit down and map out my schedule once I start an actual training plan and not just get miles on my legs again.

Expect spotlights on most of these classes I regularly take as time goes on.

First up: SH’BAM! Why? Well, because I taught it last night. 🙂 And because it’s Thursday and I’ve got a couple more Throwback Thursday gems to come for you in this post.

What is SH’BAMI’m glad you asked! Direct from the LM website:

“It’s “a fun-loving, insanely addictive dance workout. SH’BAM is an ego-free zone – no dance experience required. All you need is a playful attitude and a cheeky smile so forget being a wallflower – even if you walk in thinking you can’t, you’ll walk out knowing you can!”

If we were on Twitter right now, I’d follow that up with #truth. 😉

1933746_506029565776_1809_n
1994. You’re welcome. (Janet Jackson, not MC Hammer)

I grew up dancing and so dancing is definitely my happy place. The class can be done in a 30-minute Express format (even On Demand at home now!) or in a 45-minute format. Trust me, that’s plenty of time to get the cardio kicking and wind up super sweaty and smiley! A super awesome playlist of music and a different dance for every song! Too many exclamation points? I can’t help shouting about this program from the rooftops. I think everyone should try it (at least three times) and I truly believe everyone can and will fall in love with dance. From salsa to disco, musicals to ballet, funky hip hop and cool ragga, it really has it all!

1928977_506029550806_6083_n
1992. We weren’t flamingos if you can believe it.

I got certified to teach SH’BAM™ almost exactly one year ago. It was a huge leap out of my comfort zone and absolutely the best decision. While dancing may be my happy place, being super outgoing and talking a lot with strangers is not so much. My personality is much more reserved around strangers. I’m coming out my shell though and growing all the time. At the time of my training, I didn’t know if I’d ever get to actually teach it because there were no classes near me, but I went to training because I just love dance and believe in this program so much. I had a goal to be teaching in one year, the dream that some gym would bring it on, and it happened! (A friend of mine gets all the credit in getting the class at the gym that brought it on though, for the record.)

Dancing, and teaching dancing, has challenged my cardio in a huge way this past year. Holy smokes is it hard to jump and leap and dance and CUE all at the same time! It’s the perfect cross-training for a girl learning to pick up the pace and still breathe. Added bonus? My SH’BAM™ music serves as the perfect run playlist most of the time and repeating and cueing choreography is a great way to distract myself from the mental fatigue of running and a great way to keep myself on pace if I can still talk. The cross-training that crosses back! YES!

I’m always so glad when I get to sub – last night’s class was a super hot, smiley, fun, sweaty mess and I love seeing those awesome Sh’Bammers each week and dancing with them! Go find a class! 🙂

I’ll leave you with some words from the awesome and inspirational (and did I mention awesome?) Program Director herself:

Happy Thursday!

8 thoughts on “Cross Training Spotlight: SH’BAM™

  1. You SH’Bammer! I just did some using Les Mills On Demand. Let’s just say I’m glad I was by myself in my basement. My shimmies aren’t all that pretty 🙂

    1. Nice! I definitely recommend it. You can do at home now with On Demand (and the subscription comes with other awesome Les Mills formats too), but if you can find a live class (look on http://www.lesmills.com to find one near you), I strongly recommend it! I can’t remember if I saw SH’BAM™ on any schedules when I was in Boston in June, but Healthworks and Cambridge Athletic Club have other Les Mills classes for sure (BodyJam is another dance class and it is AWESOME).

      1. Thank you so much for all the info! I will look into the classes around here. Healthworks isn’t too far from me. The classes sound like fun!

Leave a Reply

