Coast to Coast · Fitness · Photography · Pixie Dust Challenge · Princess Half Marathon · Quotes · runDisney

“I like time. There’s so little and so much of it.” [Pay Attention]

Have I ever told you that I’m a huge Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel fan? (Well, let’s not be limiting, I will watch just about anything Joss Whedon is involved in.) Some of you are probably well aware if you know me in real life. Haha.

I think of the subject line quote (from one of the most heart-wrenching episodes of Angel EVER) whenever I think about time (okay, sometimes I also think “525,600 minutes, 525,000 moments so dear….how do you measure, measure a year?”).

While I’m slogging away and the minutes creep by at a snail’s pace at my office desk, when I see my nephew or friends’ kids, or little cousins and I can’t believe how much they’ve grown, while I’m trying to prepare for something, while I’m waiting for something exciting… time is so interesting. There really is so little and so much of it.

IMG_3934

The time between now and the Princess Half Marathon is taking forever (I want to go on my racecation vacation!). But the time between now and the Princess Half will be not nearly enough time to save as much money as I want to (too fast!).

The number of days between now and my 10k race next week are passing at double time (I’m not ready!), but the number of days of work between now and my 10k will pass at half pace (can I leave this desk yet?!).

IMG_4036

The seconds in a hover or plank are at least 100x slower than the seconds in a recover between sets.

The time since I last blogged apparently swooshed by because I feel like I JUST blogged, but um, nope. That’s not true.

The time between now and Homecoming at my high school is racing by (Operation Cheer Skirt! I need it to fit!).

The number of minutes in a mile or three miles… fine, running minutes are just SLOW (for me anyways).

And so on and so forth…

IMG_3929
Those minutes spent running tend to be among the slowest minutes in my experience. But still, it’s easy to get wrapped up in how your feet hurt, your interval countdown, your cadence, how much time is left, how many miles are left, and well, just about everything and anything else.

There are many articles out there on why you should pay attention and what you should pay attention to while you’re running. Pay attention to stay safe (where are the cars? don’t use headphones (I will ignore this every time, but I do make sure I can hear the world too)). Pay attention to your breath (how are you breathing? is it effective?).

But what if you pay attention to what the world can teach you? What if you take in the beauty, the magic, the lessons the world and your route has for you that day? Perhaps time will pass a little more slowly… or quickly depending on what you’re looking for in the world. Maybe the lesson will be exactly what you need.

When it comes down to it every day has the same number of minutes… The same number of hours. Every day has the same potential. What will you find between the sunrise and the sunset?

FullSizeRender 4

Leave a Reply

