Daily Life · Fitness · Les Mills

Life Lately: Of Food & Learning

I’ve been brainstorming and brainstorming recently, but there’s a bunch of little things going on right now that just didn’t seem to flesh out into their own posts. So, here’s a brief recap on life lately.

Of Food

After an extremely delicious and altogether indulgent Easter (dirt cake, I love you), I knew I needed to clean up my act. Although, let’s be real – it started long before Easter. Back at the New Year, I’d had a plan to not buy lunch at work at least until my trip in February (buying lunch is one of my biggest vices and I know it’s a huge money suck and waist expander). Failed that one. Then, vacation. Then, with post vacation came two more weekends out of town (including Easter). 

I’d been kicking around the idea of a Whole30 for awhile, especially for April because it’s a perfect 30 days (and I have no out of town trips). I still wasn’t sure if I wanted to take the plunge though. Just before Easter, a friend of mine opened up a 5 day no sugar challenge on Facebook as she and her husband completed a Whole90 (the 5 day challenge took place just after Easter and took her to Day89).

It was a perfect opportunity for me to give it a shot and ended up being the perfect segue into my own Whole30. So, I’m embarking down the Whole30 journey. Today’s Day 5 and I can already see some differences (better sleep and energy; not super crazy energy, but sustained energy). I promise not to talk about food in every post, but this will be a big part of my next month and I’m excited to see how this can help my day to day and my work outs, but here were my dinners during the no sugar challenge part.

IMG_7113

Of Learning

In related news, I started reading It Starts with Food on the same friend’s recommendation. It’s the first book the couple that created the Whole30 wrote. So far, so good. I’ll be back with a recap at some point.

I’ve also started watching documentaries while I edit photos (preschool proofs and two other sessions done!). In keeping with the food theme, I’ve watched Fat, Sick, and Nearly DeadFed Up, Food Matters, and Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead 2. They’re all on Netflix and there are some more I plan to watch too. Now, I don’t agree with some of the principles being presented (like I think juice fasting for days is a bad idea Nearly Dead), but there’s still good information there. And the unsurprising common theme? Cut the sugar… which sometimes hides in strange places (I’m looking at you, Drawer Full of Tea).

I’m also about to start reading Blog, Inc. which my sister passed along while I was home over Easter. I’m curious to see what it says.

Last week, one of the gyms I work at launched the latest quarter of Les Mills releases so there was a lot of time studying and learning all the new tracks for BodyFlow. My brain was overloaded, but the release was amazing. I can’t wait to teach it again.

How about you? What’s going on in your life lately? Do any of you eat Paleo or have you done Whole30? Athletes out there -how did you fuel your runs or do your post-workout recovery without gels/protein shakes? I would LOVE some tips and tricks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

