Coast to Coast · Daily Life · Fitness · Les Mills · Music · Photography · Pixie Dust Challenge · runDisney

Breakthrough: What Happens When I Really Listen

Alternate Title: Why I Listen to Music When I Run [Work Out]

With just a few days to go until Tinker Bell Half Marathon Weekend and the Pixie Dust Challenge, my brain is starting to overload.

I’m excited! I’m nervous! I’m excited! I’m nervous!

I’m thinking about what I need to do before and after work (do laundry, pack, charge all of my devices, stretch, foam roll, work out, don’t work out too hard) and holy moly is it distracting in the every day life. Still, I’m mostly excited and I know it will all come together.

Last night when I got home from the gym, I turned on some classical music and did a little yoga. Some big, beautiful, DEEP stretches and some powerful, awesome arm balances. Why? Hadn’t I already worked out? Yes. But I needed to BREATHE. I needed to break through the stress, nerves, and excitement that has been ever present. I needed to really LISTEN. Listen to my breath… and listen to the music. It’s in the work that I breathe the most deeply, but it’s in the music that I lose myself entirely.

What happens when you release the tension you're holding? What happens if you trust yourself enough to fly? #ditchdoubt 💫 I haven't attempted #eightanglepose in ages and was thrilled to find lift off even though I can see some work I need to do with my arm and shoulder alignment, while #firefly was the very first arm balance I ever achieved and take off is easy, I have room to grow and expand there too. I tried to get deep in #camelpose (but feeling tight) and oh man did #cowfacepose feel good (especially after squats and lunges in #lesmills #bodypump tonight) 😍 #yoga #yogalove #yogaeverydamnday #fitness #stretch #strengthen #testyourlimits #armbalance #challengebringschange #namaste #breathe #fireflypose #bemorehuman #breakyourselfie #reebok #practiceandalliscoming #practicemakesprogress #strongereveryday #yogajourney #yogapractice #learntobreathe

A post shared by Bree ❤️s LMI, Yoga, runDisney (@bleach226) on

Growing up dancing, I have always worked out to music (except when I was dancing I didn’t think of it as working out). I lose myself in the beat, the melody, and most especially the lyrics… I find that time passes more quickly. I find inspiration in the lyrics. Oh sure, sometimes I find myself counting “and 5, 6, 7, 8” or thinking about how many more songs until the next mile or set is done. But then just the right refrain comes on and I’m pulled back into the story of the song.

Music is a big reason as to why I love group fitness, teaching and taking Les Mills, and it’s why I will always have my headphones in when I run. It’s a good distraction from the pain and suffering. 😉

For the races this weekend, I’ll rely on someone else’s playlist (it’s a good one) because it’s easier to get lost when I don’t know what’s coming next. There will be moments on the courses where I’ll remove my headphones, but shortly after they’ll return to where they belong. The music will help me #ditchdoubt and dig in a little deeper. The beat will push me faster and harder to keep with the beat. The lyrics will encourage me to be a little braver and believe a little more.The songs will carry me to the finish line, to completing the challenge, and to my Coast to Coast medal.

But until this weekend, I’ll listen to anything and everything. I am expecting heavy doses of the Finding Neverland soundtrack though. It’s fitting after all. Neverland is waiting!

Plus after this beautiful view last night, I can’t help think “We can sail away tonight/On a sea of pure moonlight” on repeat.

 

What about you? Do you need music when you work out? Or only some work outs? How do you dig into your runs a little more? Will you be at Tink this weekend?

Leave a Reply

