Daily Life · Fitness · Les Mills · My People · Photography

Life Lately [Holidays, Lifting, and Goals]

It’s June. Okay, you probably already knew that, but seriously? It’s JUNE. Like, we are fast approaching being halfway through 2016 and how is that even possible? So, let’s talk about life lately – the little things that never seem to make it as a post on their own. 🙂

JPEG image-0431C3DC0ED9-1

On Holidays

On Monday, I had the opportunity to start my Memorial Day with a sunrise rose drop at Ft. Rosecrans National Cemetery through an event organized by the San Diego chapter of the Truman National Security Project. It was a beautiful event and a wonderful way to remember the reason for the holiday.

After the rose drop, I took BodyCombat and then headed to the beach for a run. I tried a different kind of interval with a half mile steady pace, then a 30 sec fast pace, followed by a 45 second recovery walk for a 45 minute run. My steady paces and fast paces were fairly consistent on average, but my walk paces were ALL across the board (14, 15, 16, 28!). I love that RunKeeper can track the interval paces.

IMG_8448

On Lifting

Last night, I took a Les Mills BodyPump class (one day I’ll tell you about my love affair with BodyPump, but not today). After class, I had a conversation with my friend that went something like this:

Her: Do you want to do deadlifts?
Me: Is that why you said something about me putting the bar away?
Her: I want a booty.
Me: Yeah, okay.

So, we loaded up our bars with way more weight than we usually use in BodyPump and we did four sets of 10.

Her: I’m not going to be able to move tomorrow.
Me: Nope. Not after you ran two miles, taught two Pumps, and taught TKB.
Her: So, think I can Clean & Press that?
Me: Maybe. Probably.
Her: Let’s do Cleans.

Of course we weren’t done. 🙂 So, we took a little weight off our bars, but still had on more than we’d normally do in Pump. Set of five… easy. I did a couple Clean & Presses and a few Hang Cleans in our set of five.

Her: 6?

But, first, more weight. Hang cleans – six reps. More weight and six more reps… then a set of seven… then a set of eight. The Hang Clean bruise is already fully formed.

It felt great to push myself harder and heavier than I do in BodyPump. It reminded me that I really need to do it more often (which I KNOW… but don’t do).

Dear self, don’t forget to foam roll and stretch that posterior chain today. Also, good luck running.

FullSizeRender 12
Super Powers, I’m down for that. Thanks for sharing @barbell_lifted.

On Goals for June

I’m still trying to nail down my goals for the month. Obviously, I’m still plugging away at my yearly goals, but I need some short-term goals too.

I’m thinking I want to try and hit a 9 minute mile by June 30. Not consistently running a 9 minute pace for full runs (let’s pace ourselves with those goals, no pun intended), just that Magic Mile (thanks Jeff Galloway!). I haven’t done a one mile in awhile, so hopefully it’s a reachable goal! I need to find a track to time myself and maybe do a one-miler each week? That may be the best way to monitor progress.

I’m also thinking no ice cream. 😉 #ihaveaproblem #iloveicecream

Are you setting any June goals? Any suggestions for me on how I can boost my speed? What’s going on in your life lately?

One thought on “Life Lately [Holidays, Lifting, and Goals]

Leave a Reply

